Sometimes in life, we aren’t dealt the cards we imagined would be in our hand. For some this may mean not scoring the big promotion, and for others it may be a domestic violence charge and a divorce…Read More
Criminal Defense Attorney
Assault, Domestic Assault, and Aggravated Assault
Assault convictions can have very serious consequences. If you are accused of committing an Assault, Domestic Assault, or Aggravated Assault you should contact Cynthia Mendoza – your criminal defense lawyer – as soon as possible to discuss your options and to prepare your defense. It is important to work with a criminal defense attorney who has experience with all types of assault charges and the laws that apply to these charges. Cynthia Mendoza has experience handling all types of assault cases. Consultation with a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney is critical because certain defenses, such as self-defense, may apply to your case.
What Is An Assault?
In a nutshell, a person can be accused of assault if the person causes bodily injury to another person; threatens another person with unavoidable injury; or has physical contact with another person that the other person finds offensive.
This means that not only can you be charged for hitting, kicking or choking someone, you can also be charged if you tell another person you are going to hurt him, and that person has a reasonable fear that you are able and about to do it.
What Is A Domestic Assault?
Domestic Assault, sometimes called family violence, occurs when the alleged victim of an assault is a family member, current or former spouse, or significant other. Domestic Assault can also include other categories such as Obstructing an Airway, Continuous Family Violence, and others.
What Is An Aggravated Assault?
The Texas Penal Code states that an Aggravated Assault is when a person commits assault and he either:
- causes serious bodily injury to another, or
- uses or exhibits a deadly weapon during the commission of the assault.
What Are the Possible Punishments?
A person convicted of a misdemeanor in Texas faces the following possible penalties:
- Class A misdemeanor – up to one year in jail or a fine up to $4000, or both
- Class B misdemeanor – up to 180 days in jail or a fine up to $2000, or both, and
- Class C misdemeanor – a fine up to $500.
The punishment can be increase significantly depending on the allegations made against you. For example, if an assault is committed against a police officer, child, elderly person, or disabled individual you could receive a prison sentence and a fine of up to $10,000.00. Using a weapon or causing serious injury can also increase your punishment.
Assault Charges Are Handled By Cynthia Mendoza
Cynthia Mendoza has experience handling misdemeanor and felony assault cases. As a professional criminal defense attorney, she provides her clients with quality advice, investigates the allegations, and prepares a defense plan individual to each client. Cynthia Mendoza believes that everyone deserves the best defense possible regardless of their situation. She understands that being charged with a crime can have significant consequences on a client’s life. A conviction on an individual’s permanent record can affect a person’s ability to obtain decent employment, or could cause a person to lose his job.
It is always intimidating when you or a loved one has been charged with a crime. But it is important to remember that help is available. Please contact the Law Office of Cynthia Mendoza today at 806-781-2624 or send an online message to explain your situation. Cynthia Mendoza can help you.