Skilled Criminal Defense Attorney Contact Us to Discuss Your Case

Lubbock Arson Attorney

Arson Charges in Texas

arson charges in Texas

At the Law Office of Cynthia Mendoza, our Lubbock arson defense attorney has over 12 years of in-depth legal experience. As a result, she has a comprehensive understanding of Texas criminal law in addition to a long track record of success. Regardless of the severity of the charges against you, Attorney Mendoza can efficiently guide you through the criminal process and help you pursue the results you need. Our legal team will work relentlessly to get the charges against you reduced or dismissed completely.

Call the Law Office of Cynthia Mendoza today at (806) 424-0900 or contact us online to learn more about our Lubbock, TX arson charge defense attorney and how we can help you.

Arson Laws in Texas

Arson charges in Texas can come about in many different ways. They can be brought when a fire is intended to damage or destroy structures, open-space land, vegetation, or fences. It is important to know that arson happens either when there is proof of recklessness when starting a fire, or when there is intent to cause damage and destroy. This means arson charges can be brought if an individual was careless when setting fire to their own property and the fire spread to another person’s property, or if it caused damage to another individual.

Arson charges can also occur if a person sets fire to a structure while:

  • Jeopardizing the safety of someone else's property or being reckless about the life of another person
  • Knowing it was located on someone else's property
  • Knowing it is subject to a mortgage or security interest
  • Knowing it was insured against damage
  • Knowing it was in city limits

What are Arson Charges in Texas?

An arson offense is charged as a first degree felony if someone dies or suffers bodily injury or if the property was a church or residency. The penalties for first degree felony arson include:

  • Fines up to $10,000
  • 5 to 99 years in prison

An arson offense will be charged as a second degree felony if the act was only intended to cause damage and only ended up causing damage to property. The penalties for second degree felony arson include:

  • Fines up to $10,000
  • 2 to 20 years in prison

Being convicted of arson could result in decades in prison, which is why it is imperative to retain effective and experienced representation. We can discuss your case with you and help you figure out your next best steps for moving forward.

Contact the Law Office of Cynthia Mendoza at (806) 424-0900and schedule a free consultation with our arson defense attorney in Lubbock.

  • Texas Bar College
  • Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • NACDL
  • Lubbock Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • Avvo Clients' Choice Award 2016
  • 7.2 Avvo

Committed to Protecting Your Rights

View Some of Our Recent Case Results
  • Reduced to Misdemeanor Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Threat
  • Case Dismissed Aggravated Assault with Bodily Injury and Deadly Weapon
  • Charges Reduced Aggravated Sex Assault of a Child
  • Charge Dismissed Burglary of a Habitation
  • Case Dismissed Robbery
  • Case Dismissed Sex Crime
  • Not Guilty Verdict Sex Crime
  • Reduced to Misdemeanor Assault Sexual Assault of an Adult