Skilled Criminal Defense Attorney Contact Us to Discuss Your Case

Lubbock Domestic Violence Attorney

Arrested for Domestic Violence in Lubbock? Call Law Office of Cynthia Mendoza!

Domestic violence is a very serious offense in Texas, and it can have a devastating effect on your life. If you are facing a criminal charge for this, you need the representation of a Lubbock domestic violence lawyer as soon as possible. Domestic violence charges can result in serious penalties, including jail time and the loss of your right to own a firearm. If you are facing domestic violence charges, you must hire a lawyer who is experienced in this area of law.

Law Office of Cynthia Mendoza has been representing clients facing charges similar to yours in Lubbock, Texas since 2006. We have extensive experience defending cases in both state and federal courts and strive to provide effective and aggressive defense plans that lead to favorable outcomes. At our firm, you'll receive the personalized attention you deserve as we guide you through each step of the legal process and work to steer your case in the right direction.

Call us at (806) 424-0900today to schedule your initial consultation!

What Is Domestic Violence in Texas?

In Texas, family violence is a serious crime that carries severe penalties. Under Texas Penal Code § 71.004, family violence is defined as an act committed by one member of the family or household against another member of the same family/household with the intent to cause bodily injury, physical harm, assault, or sexual assault. Even if you threaten another member of your family, and your threats reasonably cause fear of imminent serious harm, bodily injury, or sexual assault, you can still face family violence charges.

Family violence can be classified as either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the severity of the crime. Regardless of whether family violence is a felony or misdemeanor, you can face penalties like fines, jail time, or loss of your right to carry a firearm. A family violence conviction is also not eligible for expungement in Texas, which means that the conviction will remain on your criminal record forever.

Penalties for Domestic Violence

If you are convicted of domestic assault for the first time, you will face a Class A misdemeanor, which carries a maximum penalty of one year in jail and a $4,000 fine. However, if you have prior convictions for domestic assault, the crime can be elevated to a third-degree felony, which can lead to up to 10 years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000.

Contact Our Lubbock Domestic Violence Firm for a Free Consultation

When facing criminal charges, it's crucial to seek the help of an experienced attorney who can provide effective representation. Law Office of Cynthia Mendoza can provide you with the support you need. Don't hesitate to contact us right away. We're committed to serving our clients and are happy to assist Spanish-speaking individuals.

To schedule your consultation with our Lubbock domestic violence lawyer, call (806) 424-0900 today.

  • Texas Bar College
  • Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • Lubbock Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • Avvo Clients' Choice Award 2016
  • 7.2 Avvo

Committed to Protecting Your Rights

View Some of Our Recent Case Results
  • Reduced to Misdemeanor Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Threat
  • Case Dismissed Aggravated Assault with Bodily Injury and Deadly Weapon
  • Charges Reduced Aggravated Sex Assault of a Child
  • Charge Dismissed Burglary of a Habitation
  • Case Dismissed Robbery
  • Case Dismissed Sex Crime
  • Not Guilty Verdict Sex Crime
  • Reduced to Misdemeanor Assault Sexual Assault of an Adult